Take the 2-minute tour ×
Programmers Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professional programmers interested in conceptual questions about software development. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I don't know much about Tortoise SVN, but have been using it for a while.

I understand that it is capable of managing concurrent users on same file, but how does it do that?

I am working on a file that another user is using concurrently and he committed couple of times before me, Now my files doesn't have the changes he made. Every time i end up in such a situation I gets a conflict and I am stuck.

So is there something else I should do instead of just committing and causing conflict?

Is it safe to do a update first and then commit ? Will I lose my local changes in this case?

Please don't beat me up if this is something basic, a link to some tutorial will be useful in that case :)

share|improve this question
    
This really has nothing to do with tortoise-svn. This is a general Subversion-issue. –  JesperE Sep 28 '12 at 22:12
    
In fact its a generalised question for any versioning system allowing concurrent changes - although with DVCS the steps will be a bit more convoluted. –  Murph Sep 29 '12 at 11:08
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 3 down vote accepted

You can (and should) update first before committing any changes. You will not lose any local changes when updating. If there are any conflicts, you will be informed and can deal with them by carefully merging your local changes with those in the repository.

For more information about TortoiseSVN, read the online documentation here.

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you for the quick response, some time i get something like <<<<<<<<<<<<<<< mine marked in my file, any idea why that comes? –  sabithpocker Sep 28 '12 at 19:15
2  
the <<<mine stuff is the result of a merge conflict; it happens when the same bit of code has been modified in two different ways and the tool can't figure out which one is right (it needs human intervention). You should see two other files next to yours which are named after their respective SVN revisions - one will be your original file, and the other will be the repository version. You can view the conflict using the tool which Tortoise provides to let you resolve, or revert it and try merging again. –  Ben C Sep 28 '12 at 19:18
    
@BenC Thank you for the help I will try it. –  sabithpocker Sep 28 '12 at 19:19
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.