Take the 2-minute tour ×
Programmers Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professional programmers interested in conceptual questions about software development. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I have previously forked other people's repos on GitHub, and I have noticed that issues stay with the original repo, and that I can't file issues on the forked repo.

I now have the following task. I am working for a small business where development was being done by one of the principals on his personal account. He has amicably left the project, and we would like to migrate that project away from his personal account to a new "role" account on GitHub.

I would naturally fork the repo, in order to preserve the code history, but then I'll end up with a repo where we can't file new issues, which is quite undesirable.

How can I make a copy of this original repo into our new account, ideally still preserving code history, but be able to file new issues within this new account?

share|improve this question
5  
Hi Tom, please read our FAQ thoroughly, especially the Can I use a signature or tagline? and Other people can edit my posts?! sections. I've reviewed the edits, and I don't see anything wrong there, salutations, taglines and such are generally considered noise, we prefer to keep all posts as concise and to the point as possible. If you would like to further discuss the issue, feel free to ask a question about it on our Meta site. –  Yannis Rizos Dec 14 '12 at 19:55
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 12 down vote accepted

After a quick test, it is possible to attach an issue to your own fork of a repo. Here is what I did :

  • Fork a repo (duh!)
  • Go to the Settings page of your fork.
  • Check the box next to Issues

You can now file issues on your own fork and they will not be placed in the main repo. Pretty straightforward, isn't it?

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you. It should have been obvious, but two of us missed it entirely. –  Tom Swirly Dec 14 '12 at 19:25
add comment

There is also the option to transfer (ownership of) a repository from one account to another (e.g. from an ex-employee to an 'organization' account).

  • The "Transfer Ownership" button is at the bottom of the Settings page of the repository, in the "Danger Zone" section.
  • The current owner of the repository must have administrative privileges to the destination organization (though this could just be temporary).
share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.