Sign up ×
Programmers Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professional programmers interested in conceptual questions about software development. It's 100% free.

So I am confused when it comes to the .net framework 4. Is there a Microsoft Certified Solution Developer for .net framework 4?

The Visual Studio 2010 Certifications Paths seemms to highlight MCPD 70-519 for one, which does not have pre reqs...

Have I gotten it wrong? Is there still Microsoft Certified Solution Developer? and the Microsoft Certified Solution Developer Enterprise?

share|improve this question

closed as off-topic by gnat, Dan Pichelman, GlenH7, MichaelT, Bart van Ingen Schenau Oct 17 '14 at 8:09

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "Questions seeking career or education advice are off topic on Programmers. They are only meaningful to the asker and do not generate lasting value for the broader programming community. Furthermore, in most cases, any answer is going to be a subjective opinion that may not take into account all the nuances of a (your) particular circumstance." – gnat, Dan Pichelman, GlenH7, MichaelT, Bart van Ingen Schenau
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

The MCSD title still exists, but you can't take the tests for it anymore and it's no longer really relevant. Starting with .NET 2.0, MS restructured everything into MCPD (Professional Developer) and MCTS (Technical Specialist).

For .NET 4 you want to be looking into MCPD. See here: They've changed the structure a bit with every release of Visual Studio - I did my certs in the 2005 era and became an MCPD-EA (Enterprise Applications), which required you to take a base .NET framework "foundations" test, the MCTS tests for Windows, Web and Enterprise Applications, and then the Pro test for MCPD.

It looks like with 2010 they got rid of "Enterprise Apps" and went to Azure-related certification instead, and they restructured the requirements and made WCF and data-access specific tests.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.